Coast Guard Aviation Association Awards

Each year at the annual Roost the Coast Guard Aviation Association honors active duty aviation personnel by recognizing outstanding achievement.

Captain Marion “Gus” Shrode
Flight Safety Award

Lt Jeremy Davis USCG
Lt Thomas Huntley USCG
Lt Nicholas Hazlett USCG

Award Summary

The Coast Guard Aviation Association annually presents the Captain Marion “Gus” Shrode Aviation Safety Award to recognize superior performance and outstanding contributions to Coast Guard aviation safety. Captain Shrode was a pioneer in the development of Coast Guard aviation standardization programs, including publication of the Coast Guard’s first aircraft standardization manual. Captain Shrode was also instrumental in creating the Coast Guard’s Aviation Training Center in 1966, served as the Aviation Safety Chief, and completed seven years of continuous aviation command with distinction.

Nomination Summary

The safety department was selected by the commandant’s staff for outstanding performance from among the impressive nominations of other aviation safety departments and individuals.

During the period of 1 June 2010 to 31 May 2011, the Elizabeth city safety department was instrumental in developing a proactive safety culture at the unit. They modified and expanded the unit’s operational risk management (ORM) program through the development and implementation of a more robust ORM process guide. The final product not only captured risk data for operational and training flights, but additionally mirrored the district level and sector level gar model allowing flight crews to quickly communicate risk-based decisions to other Coast Guard units, thus improving communication between multiple response platforms.

Captain Frank Erickson
Rotary Wing Rescue Award


LCDR James Harkins, LT Christopher Stoeckler
AET2 David Ball, AST2 Michael Gerent

Past Recipients

The Frank Erickson Award recognizes Rotary-Wing aircrews who have demonstrated exceptional performance while engaged in search and rescue operations.

Nomination Summary

The Captain Frank A. Erickson award goes to the Air Station Kodiak crew of CGNR 6013 in recognition of their heroic efforts on 10 August 2010. The actions of LT Christopher Stoeckler, LCDR James Harkins, AET2 David Ball, and AST2 Michael Gerent resulted in two lives saved and two assisted from a float plane that had crashed in a remote area. During the two-hour night-time transit to scene, the crew encountered IMC and poor visibility while navigating the 9,000foot peaks of the Aleutian Range. Once clear of the treacherous terrain, the crew encountered icing conditions during the descent into the narrow confines of Bristol Bay. CGNR 6013 hover-taxied just above the tree tops, through low lying fog to arrive at the survivor’s location, 800 feet up the side of a mountain. Steep terrain and high winds at the crash site forced hoisting to be accomplished from the left seat copilot position. The severe winds also required the flight mechanic to provide conning commands by looking underneath the belly of the aircraft, and hampered the rescue swimmers ability to traverse the ground. The crew demonstrated exceptional airmanship responding to these challenges while fighting fatigue and vertigo-inducing visual illusions caused by the 45-degree horizon. They worked for over two hours to recover the survivors. The crew’s superlative aeronautical abilities, bravery, and teamwork were evident throughout this mission.

Commander Elmer Stone
Fixed Wing Rescue Award

LT Stacia Parrott , LTJG Daniel Feirman
AET1 Thomas Morrell, AMT2 Casey Green
AMT2 Jacob Eide, AET3 Jeremy Church

Award Summary

The Elmer Stone Award recognizes Fixed-Wing aircrews who have demonstrated exceptional performance while engaged in search and rescue operations

Nomination Summary

The commander Elmer F. Stone award goes to the Air Station Miami crew of CGNRr 2306 in recognition of their efforts on 22 may 2011.the skill and dedication of LT Stacia Parrott, LTJG Daniel Feirman,AET1 Thomas Morrell, AMT2 Casey Green, AMT2 Jacob Eide, and AET3Jeremy Church resulted in saving the of three lives. At 0400 the crew of CGMR 2306 launched to search for the source of a personal locator beacon, 44 nautical miles east of Lake Worth inlet, at the western edge of the Bahamas. Once on-scene, the crew determined their assigned search pattern was not matching with the last known location of the signal. While looking in the vicinity of what they predicted should be the search area they discovered a light that did not match navigation aids in the area. They chose to depart the search to investigate the light. Discovering a debris field, they made several passes over the immediate area. On the last pass, several persons in the water were located with the use of the infrared camera. The mission sensor operators were able to determine the exact number of survivors to be three. Acting quickly, the crew dropped a MK-58 flare at the position. The marker provided a visual reference for a surface asset to locate and safely recover all three PIW. Through their effective use of mission planning, crew resource management, and proactive leadership, the crew succeeded in saving three lives.

Chief Aviation Machinist Mate
Oliver Berry
Aviation Maintenance Award

AMT1 Jacob Linder of Air Station Humboldt Bay, California

Award Summary

The Coast Guard Aviation Association annually presents the Chief Aviation Machinist Mate Oliver F. Berry Aviation Maintenance Award to an aviation technician who has demonstrated exceptional performance and enhanced the overall quality of Coast Guard aviation maintenance.

Nomination Summary

Demonstrating exceptional leadership, superb technical expertise and professionalism, AMT1 Linder played a key role in Coast Guard Air Station Humboldt Bay’s aviation engineering department as quality assurance supervisor, watch captain, corrosion prevention advocate, maintenance resource management facilitator, enlisted flight examining board chairperson and critical incident stress management peer. His relentless work ethic, exemplary technical expertise, and significant efforts mentoring and leading the workforce proved invaluable for the sustained high level of readiness for Air Station Humboldt Bay. His valued contributions undoubtedly improved the aviation maintenance program and are highly deserving of this prestigious award.