2024 Roost Registration is now open!

Coast Guard Aviation Association

2022 CGAA Awards

Each year the Coast Guard Aviation Association honors active duty aviation personnel by recognizing outstanding achievement. Recipients of these awards are chosen by the United States Coast Guard. Awards include the The Victor Roulund Rescue Swimmer Meritorious Achievement Award, the Captain Gus Shrode Flight Safety Award, the Chief Oliver Berry Aviation Maintenance Award, the Commander Elmer Stone Fixed Wing Rescue Award, and the Captain Frank Erickson Rotary Wing Rescue Award. See below for award descriptions as well as past and present recipients.


USCG Air Station Kodiak, AK – Crew of HC-130 CG-2006
CDR Stephen W. Pittman, USCG - Acft. Cmdr.
LT Austin S. English, USCG - Copilot
AMT1 Julio A. Guillermo, USCG - Loadmaster
AET2 Mykola O. Polovko, USCG - MSO
AET2 Corey J. Walker, USCG - MSO
AMT3 Ian R. Tuel, USCG - Dropmaster
AET3 Michael E. Madrigal, USCG -Basic AC


USCG Air Station Kodiak, AK – Crew of MH-60 CG-6037
LCDR John A. Filipowicz, USCG – Acft. Cmdr.
LCDR Alex C. Martfeld, USCG - Copilot
AMT2 Christian R. Sandberg, USCG – Flt. Mech.
AST3 Robert R. Burke III, USCG – RS


Sector Columbia River/Air Station Astoria Safety Department
Flight Safety Officer (FSO) LCDR Jane Peña
Sector Safety Manager (SSM)/Ground Safety Officer (GSO) LT Amanda Thrasher